5CC.exe

very short ReadMe with basic instructions

Version: v1.21 (MacOS-X (PPC, i386) and Win2k, XP, Vista, W7)
Author: Mafi - cs2xh@web.de
Date: 2013-04-17


Change Log 5CC

v1.22   2013-04-17
- added: action map data bulk replacement using CC2Tools translation tables.
- debugged: help text assignment to menu items.
- debugged: editing element files of 5CC.


v1.21   2013-02-16
- debugged: creating new PitF-map from scratch via graphic template.


v1.20   2013-01-31
- more scaling actions added (BGM and Roofs).
- debugged: creating new map from scratch.


v1.19   2013-01-01
- supporting CC:PitF maps (8 pixels per meter, 24-bit graphics).
- scale actions added.
- data actions: expand/shrink: earlier size precheck when entering values.
- two additional help texts.
- preferences: elevation greyscale import: two additional calculations.
- tree patch library format extended to support 24-bit graphics.


v1.18 2012-05-07
- expand/shrink of a map (suggested by Remi in August 2011)
- Editing window: contextual mouse click: "below mouse" terrain detection bug fixed.
- two different ways of greyscale import: see section "LOS" of window "Preferences". 
   Default is now "Median", the highest amount of grey in a terrain element, 
   and not the calculated medium of grey as in older 5CC versions.


v1.17f2
- Generating elevations from greyscale image debugged and speed increased.

v1.17f1
- Preferences: labeling of the list of terrain elements files debugged.
- Data actions: new section added "Elevation range".

v1.17
- faster writing and reading of 16-bit graphics (Win and Intel-Mac) (BGM, OVM, MMM, Roof, TARGA).
- Window "Data actions", section terrain auto-coding: progress wheel added.
- menu item "Elevation 40x40" renamed to "Tiles 40x40" (menu section "Grid").
- the labeling "Elevation tile" reserved for CC2-only, newer CC-versions got "Tile" label.
- MacOS-version only: debugged the appearence of windows when quitting.
- LOS-calculation and terrain-autocoding: better user interrupt implemented (app.DoEvents).
- WindowTreePatches: resizing debugged.
- WindowTreePatches: debugged: setting listindex to added library.
- WindowHelp: Ctrl-W / CMD-W can close the window.

v1.16f2
- "Preferences" -> "Elements file": CTRL-click on radio button will clear entry.
- "Preferences" -> "Elements file": load terrain elements file: strict checking of valid file format. 
   Rejecting game's file 'elements.txt' explicitly, giving a hint.
- Stricter checking if terrain elements are loaded before generating LOS.
- Stricter checking if LOS-Data are present before saving them.

v1.16f1
- help text expanded: limits of trees and roofs.
- Data actions -> Terrain fill/replace: categories in window "Terrain" 
   will no longer collapse when hitting the button "Fill".




v1.16
- app for Intel-Macs added. 
- WritePreferencesFile: write-access checking added.
- remembered recent loaded maps can be set to an individual limit 
   (up to 96 entries max.).
- import and usage of sprite-graphics file "Terrain".
- extension to format of "terrain elements files".
- corrected numerical sorting in window "editing terrain elements file".
- extended actions in "Data actions" -> "Terrain": bordering and selecting values 
  with a given neighbour.
- extended actions in "Data actions" -> "Elevation": bordering (even with slope) 
  and selecting elements with a given terrain data.
- selecting a terrain value in window "Terrain" will cause corresponding entry in 
   any focussed terrain edit field of window "Data actions".
- debugged LOS layer selection reference in window Tools.
- 4 additional LOS write through modes.
- generating new MMM or OVM will recalculate the new size depending on 
  the settings in "Preferences" (and no longer taking the former old size),
- generating MMM: width/height can be determined in "pixel per mega tile".
- generating MMM: quality "0" now faster, better graphics and no progressbar.
- generating OVM: quality "0" now faster, better graphics and no progressbar.
- added: import bridge and girder graphics from Bridges.azp.
- added: generate OVM/MMM with girder and/or tree images on.
- added: export "undamaged girder" over "BGM" or "white".
- Roof/Interior/Bridge/Girder view toggle debugged,
- BridgeInfo window enabled for LSA bridge view 
     (you will see always only the first entry).
- "Edit" -> "Copy" enabled for bridge and girder graphics for LSA maps.
- added hardcoded: recognizing "Conifer" as a tree.
- debugged: importing TXT map data file into already loaded map.
- loading BGM and TGA: speed slightly increased, no EOF checking anymore 
   for every pixel.
- added: Roof action "Adjust roof graphics to polygon shape" for both, single 
  action in window "Roof informations" and for all roofs in the main editing window.
- polygon definition bug fixed.
- added: picture drag and drop for the two image canvas of the window 
  "Roof informations".
- added: picture drag out for the windows "OVM" and "MMM".
- window OVM: "Mines" button toggle debugged.
- window MMM: menuitem "Export MMM" enabled.
- roof adjust to 8-byte format: you now can select between black filling or 
   white filling at the right side of the roof images.
- added: automatic detection for Groof2-error when loading a map.
- added: can be turned on /off in window "Preferences", section "Map".
- added: Roof action "Check for logical integrity of all roofs".
- changed: menu item of roof actions "Shift all vertices 1 pixel to the left" is 
  now relabled to: "Compensate Groof2-error", in two variations: all roofs 
  (makes less sense) or only the defective roofs (the user's choice).
- added: more polygon related roof actions.
- pasting roof ext./int. over BGM or white: visble-width-bug fixed.
- added: buttons "show bridge informations" and "check roofs" in 
  window "Map properties".
- added: roof polygon defining will now have a line going from the last defined 
  polygon point to the actual mouse cursor position 
   (only if double graphics buffering is set "on" in Preferences).
- Preferences: roof polygon pen size definition added.
- additional layer: "Interior" = see the added/generated interior background 
  image instead of BGM. Might be usefull when defining roofs while the additional 
  interior background image is loaded. Be warned: the visual effect will be strange 
  when defining roofs. After the roof is defined, you will see the roof, and no longer 
  the "interior", because the defined roof image is pasted over until you turn 
  "Roof > Roofs" off or "Roof > Interiors" on.
- redesign of the Help-window. Help texts concerning the window "Tools" added.
- main editing window: cursor shape will change only within the editing canvas.

- still missing: although you can edit the first blown/repaired LSA-bridge 
  images, such changes will not be saved back to Bridges.azp.



v1.15
- tree images overlay "layer" added and it's related topics
    - see "Edit" > "Select tree image overlay" to change the image,
    - see "File" > "Export" > "Export tree images overlay", to get
      a background with real trees painted on,
    - the "File" > "Export" > "Export map screenshot" will respect
      the new "tree images" settings also,
    - see expanded window "Visible layers", new button "Tree".
    - see "Geneate" > "Generate OVM/MMM from background with tree images".
- fixed an error recognizing "Street Light" as a tree.
- menuitem "Roofs combined over Interiors" added. 
  Just the way how the new CCEngine of 2010 works.
- within window "Map Editor" and "OVM overview": you can scroll 
  vertically and horizontally using the arrow keys of the keyboard. 
  Using ALT-Key and/or CMD-Key will double the step rate 
  (see also Preferences -> Map -> arrow key resolution)
- within window "Map Editor": you can use TAB-char (or SHIFT-TAB) 
  to jump to next roof on map (or backward).
- Helptext-addons for CC:LSA.
- closing the map-editing window will quit the application (PC only).


v1.14f1
- Splash screen updated
- homepage address in About-box updated
- creating OVM- and MMM-graphic: speed improved
- added roof actions: copy ext-pict to int-pict or vice versa. 
  No undo possible!
- New map creating: added to select a background image as template
  for map size. This image can also be used as BGM for the new 
  map without reloading it.
- added: generate MMM from BGM.


 v1.14 - debuggings:
- added: Bridge Information window for CC2, showing coordinates and 
  graphics for both, blown and repaired bridge image.
- added: roof information window will show insert area for possible interior image.
- debugged: roof information window inits (another NIL check).
- debugged: roof information window clean up when editing a new map.
- debugged: map properties window clean up when editing a new map.
- debugged: main editing window: pasting-in a roof image will set the 
  ImageCount property to 1 if it was 0. Pasting-in an interior image 
  will set the ImageCount property to 2 if it was less.

 v1.12f2 - debuggings:
- added: new Menu-shortcut "Update all roof graphics from BGM and 
  interior-pict without changing thier coordinates": Ctrl+8.
- added: window "Roof informations": three menu items "Update this 
  roof graphics" similiar to the main editing window's menubar, but 
  intended to work on the actually selected roof entry only.
- added: last error code explanation for condition "saving to disk failed".
- fixed: crashing program when user aborts saving shadow/trunk TARGAs.
- changed: you can import BGM TARGA / graphics different to the map's size.
- changed: importing *.bgm/BGMap-file of different size can be canceled. 

 v1.12f1 - debuggings:
- Roof nil check error fixed for "no roofs defined yet"-condition. Thanks to QM!

 v1.12 - debuggings:
- Roof Inspector window: corrected data filling when switching to roof.
- Roof file reading: now interpreting white pixels separately for CC3-5.
- Roof graphics will now show up with white as transparency even in 32-bit.
- Roof editing: when creating cutouts to be defined as roofs, the actually 
  highlighted roof will be deselected now to allow cutout mask painting.
- Preferences>Layers: changes to the radiobuttons "coloring effect" 
  will have immediate effect within the editor window.
- Preferences>Colors: pressing the button "Apply changes" will now 
  have immediate effect to the menubar entries and the editor window's coloring.
- Preferences>General: added popupmenu to select the color depth for 
  exporting graphics to the clipboard. Should be 16-bit on PPC-Macs.

v1.11 final
- error messages with better explanation.
- Win-version/Intel-Mac version: minor CMM improvements
   (OVM, Roof).
- importing map data/txt: checking file-format and size,
   user can abort if size or format does not fit to actually
   edited map.
- window "Trees": disclosure triangle states will change on
   window resizing.
- Win-version/Intel-Mac version: mouse wheel support for
   listboxes of the windows "MapMetaCommentsEditing" and
  "TerrainElementsFileEditing".
- debugged: update editing window after importing map datas.

v1.11b5
- Window "Data actions": added "Search" for elevation and terrain.
- menuitems added "Edit>Find..." and "Edit>Find next".
- selecting a new terrain will automatically set the
  editfield value for the "Data actions"-Search
  functionality. Can be disabled in "Preferences", section
  "Elements file".
- LOS calculation speed +10%,
- better performance: terrain drawing, LOS loading/saving.
- debugged: coordinates window will show correct yellow
  rect on first appearance.
- debugged contextual menu response.
- CC2-BGM-identification bug fixed.

v1.11b4
- terrain listbox sorting debugged,
- terrain listbox collapsing bug fixed,
- checkmarks added "Visibility>Terrain elements table>Show
  entries grouped in categories".
- terrain listbox "category grouping/show all"-state stored
  in Preferences file.
- Intel-Mac testing: do not use 16-bit internal graphics!
  Use 32-bit graphics only.
- Help text added regarding recommended performance settings.
- Max number of terrain element file entries increased to 5000.
- three additional roof rect selection cursors, see
  Preferences window.
- two slots for terrain element files added in Preferences window.
- Window "Data actions" resizing debugged.
- Show window Roof-Informations menuitem: "no roof
  selected"-bug fixed.
- Window Roof-Informations: UpDown-Arrows with better
  mouse-over graphics.
- Window Roof-Informations: if visible, it will now update
  its contents when a new roof file is loaded or added.
- added sorting criteria: sort by "used/not used + level +
  name". Contextual menu also changed.
- new Menu-shortcut "Sort by Level": Ctrl+Alt+L
- new Menu-shortcut "Sort by Used/Unused + Level + Name":
  Ctrl+Alt+Shift+L
- UpDownArrow-Control in window "RoofInspector": changed
  up<->down in functionality: up arrow will now increase
  index number.
- new: import and adding of map meta comments from external
  XML-file.
- new: minefields/explosives indicated on OVM. See window
  "Visible layers" (will now change it's contents when
  switching between main editor window and OVM-window). See
  also Preferences window, section "Layers" (for the
  indicator's diameter) and section "Color" (for the
  indicator's color).
- added: OVM window got own contextual popup menu.
- added: OVM window with mouse wheel support.
- WinXP version only: OVM window got own menubar.
- debugged: adjust map-editing window size to very small maps.
- added: main map-editing window: contextual popup menu for
  "Terrain pointer" and "Switch to CC2 repaired bridge data" tools.
- added: main map-editing window: contextual popup menu for
  CC2 repaired bridge data editing mode.
- added: CTRL pressed during mouse-wheeling doubles mouse
  wheel-resolution temporarily.

v1.11a3
- new Menu-shortcut "Save as...": Ctrl+Shift+S
- new Menu-shortcut "Show Terrain elements window": Ctrl+T
- new Menu-shortcut "Show tools window": Ctrl+Shift+T
- new Menu-shortcut "Show Preferences window": Ctrl+,
- PC only: "File>Close" within Editor-main window will no
  longer close the app but create a new, blank map of same
  size of the map already loaded before. Sorry, the main
  window must stay open on Windows, otherwise we will have no
  menubar to quit the application.
- window "Terrain" and corresponding menuitem entries in
  "Visibility>Terrain elements table": you can toogle showing
  only used terrain elements listed in this window or all. 
- added sorting criteria: sort by "used/not used",
  "used/not used + class" and "used/not used + name".
  Contextual menu also changed.
- Preferences, section "Elements file": added checkbox
  "Keep sorting when expanding again" to have the listbox of
  the window "Terrain" always sorted (even on next startup).
- more status indications using checkmarks within the
  submenu "Visibility>Terrain elements table".
- new Menu-shortcut "Sort by Used/Unused": Ctrl+Alt+U
- new Menu-shortcut "Sort by Used/Unused + Name":
  Ctrl+Alt+Shift+U
- new Menu-shortcut "Show only used terrain elements":
  Ctrl+U
- new Menu-shortcut "Show unused and used terrain
  elements": Ctrl+Shift+U
- PC/IntelMac only: MouseWheel support within main Editor
  window. Shift+MouseWheel: horizontally scrolling.
- Preferences, section "Map": mouse wheel resolution can be
  set (range 1 to  40).
- Preferences, section "General": you can enable
  event-calls/event-checking during progressbar activities to
  make the program more responsive (when file loading/saving),
  but this will slow down the program drastically.

v1.11a2
- Ctrl-mouse click/right-mouse click can use eyedropper
  functionality (like in 3C) instead of showing a contextual
  menu (terrain & elevation editing), see "Preferences",
  section "Map", new subsection "Editing a map:".
- contextual menu for Ctrl-mouse click while terrain
  editing indicates now better which one is "actually
  selected terrain" and which one is "terrain below mouse"
  (besides the "recently selected terrain values" as already
  implemented).
- map data reading internally changed.
- map data reading: mssing terrain values will get a zero value.
- map data reading: missing elevation values will get a
  zero elevation.
- menuitem File>Import>Map data/TXT: debugged, will no
  longer clear existing map, but only import map data as one
  will expect.
- map data import: now capable to import data from maps of
  different size than the one loaded in the map editor
  itself: will place the import as a cutout in the upper left
  corner. Imported map data offside the edited map will be not
  imported. Already loaded/edited data offside the imported
  cutout rectangle will remain unchanged.
- added menuitem: File>Import>Import map data, terrain data only.
- added menuitem: File>Import>Import map data, elevation
  data only.
- more speed improvements while reading and writing 16bit
  graphics.
- Preferences window: captions for terrain element files
  changed (to take  effect you must trash the existing
  preferences-file "5CC.ini" on your HD).

v1.11a1
- CCWaR map size limit help text added.
- little speed improvement reading and writing 16bit TGA/BGM.
- new progress information after reading map-data:
  "comparing datas read with terrain elements"

v1.11a0
- BalloonHelp removed (was MacOS9 only).
- UpDownArrow-Control increased in size (windows
  "CreateNewMap", "RoofInspector").
- Preferences window: failed re-/loading of
  Terrain-Elements-File will show error message.
- Preferences window: debugged Terrain-Elements-Filename
resizing after pressing radio button.
- Preferences window: enable/disable LiveScroll will have
  now immediate effect to all windows.
- Map properties window: tree scan will show hint in case
  no elements file is loaded.
- Terrain window: avoiding all colors black if no elements
  file is loaded.
- Map Editor and OVM window: scrollbars' pagesteps now
  dynamically according to window size.
- Map Editor and OVM window: scrollbars' linesteps set to 10.
- Map Editor: roof editing cursor changed to arrow-pointer.
  See Preferences, subsection "Map".

All additions of v1.11 are indicated by a blue bar in the
manual. 


5CC is a CloseCombat-map editor, suitable for CC2, CC3,
CC4, CC5, CCM, RtB, CCRAFReg, CC3-re-release CoI, CCMT, 
CCWaR, CCTLD, CCLSA (and perhaps newer versions???) - 
available for Mac and PC.

It will autodetect the different file formats between CC2-files and
other CC-files. The main key to differentiate between these file
formats is the CC-map data file (*.txt file for CC3 and newer,
Map###-file for CC2). It will recognize background map files with a
byte size value in the header of 00020000h as CC2 BGMap### files. The
map data format dtermines how *.ovm and *.mmm files will be
interpreted. If you will encounter strange error reports like "not
enough RAM to create picture", then it might be that the file format
was not detected correctly. Roof files will be always identified
correctly, because they have different headers for CC2 and the newer
versions. LOS files have always the same file format for all those CC
versions.

To make terrain-editing possible, 5CC must know how to interprete the
terrain element values. For this 5CC has to import a CC#elements.txt
file of its own file format. The needed files are similiar to the
original CC2/CC3 element files, but not completely identical. You
cannot use original Element.adb files (of CC4 and newer), you must
translate those *.adb files into ASCII files and transfer them into
suitable files for 5CC (use the files out of this archive as templates).

When loading a map, nearly all kind of files of this map will be
imported, as long as they exist: *.txt, *.bgm, *.ovm, *.mmm, *.rfm
and CC2-Bridg### file. The *.los file will be not imported
automatically. If you want to edit LOS, you must load the existing
LOS file or you can generate a new LOS with 5CC. I think LOS
generating/editing is nearly the last step to be made when creating a
map.

5CC will search the necessary file for a given *.txt file always in
the same folder where the *.txt file reside. If the *.bgm file is not
present, then 5CC will ask for this file. If the other files are not
present where the *.bgm reside, then they will not be loaded. You can
select if you will have an automatic *.ovm and *.mmm generating if
these files are missing (default: generating is ON). A special case
is CC2: 5CC will always search for data and *.los files in a folder
named "./Data/Maps" and will always search for the graphics files in
the folder "./Graphics/Maps", no matter if these folders are on a CD
or CD-image or HD or network volume.

Some words about graphic import: you can import graphic files to be
used as BGM, OVM and MMM. The capabilities of the environment
(operating system, compiler I have used, QuickTime installed)
determines which file formats can be detected. On PCs BMP should be
always detectable, perhaps JPEG. On MacOS-9 PICT should be
detectable, on MacOS-X 10.4 and newer it should be PNG and
JPEG. To be compatible with all other CC-tools around 5CC has its
own graphic import/export funtion for 16-bit TARGA files (oriented
TOP-DOWN, LEFT-RIGHT). This TARGA-import should always work.
Internally 5CC is converting all graphics automatically to 16-bit graphics
(even if they are imported from JPEG). Exporting with the compiler's
runtime library might show many more possibilities, but 5CC will
not be able to import all these graphics formats back.

Some features you might know if you are familiar with
CCEdit: when you are in Roof-editing mode, the highlighted (= selected)
roof rectangle can be copied to the clipboard (and can be pasted
back via clipboard). The interchange via clipboard is the best way
to avoid color depth- or file format-troubles when editing roof
graphics. 5CC will convert automatically roof graphics imported via
clipboard to 16-bit. The same to say for the CC2-BlownBridge and
-BaileyBridge graphics (in this case only the one graphic is
"highligthed" = selected automatically).

You can view your roof (exterior and interior) or CC2-bridge graphics
in terrain- and elevation-editing, too: use the menu or CTRL-R,
CTRL-I, CTRL-1, CTRL-2. Roof defining is only possible if you are  in
Roof-editing mode, with in "Roof view" selected. You cannot define an
interior without its exterior roof. And you cannot define a bailey
(repaired) bridge without having defined a blown bridge graphic.
Blown bridge and bailey bridge must not have the same coordinates.
Roof's exterior and interior have allways the same coordinates. Even
if you are editing roofs for CC3 or newer you can use the
CC2 way by defining only rectangles. Then 5CC will generate the
suitable vertices for you. On the other hand, if you are defining
vertices for your CC3 (or newer) roofs (you can have only 12 points to
define, its a CC-restriction), 5CC will generate the surrounding
rectangle automatically for you.

New to CCEdit-users is that you can import in addition a background
graphic with painted interiors on (must be of the same size like the
*.bgm). This graphic will not be visible for the user. But if define
your roofs on your BGM, the graphics for the interiors will be taken
from this additional graphic "layer". This makes roofing much faster
(like in Groof2.exe). 5CC will allow overlaying roof rectangles, but
it is not recommended to use it because some CC versions might be
confused (like CC2).

In the lower left edge of the map editing window (main window on PCs)
you can enter the map's name, map's terrain-style and map's name color
(only CC3 or newer). Browse through the Preferences to see how to
customize 5CC for your own purpose. Colors used by 5CC to make
grid/boundaries/values visible are nearly the same as in CCEdit. But
at least for snow maps you will need other colors. For this I have
implemented color themes for 5CC to make changing the whole bunch of
colors possible (like in MacOS 9 and beyond).

Limits: map size is limited, depending on the CC versions you are
making your maps for. See the map making guides around by Mick "xe5",
Naked Foot, Chris Ellens and Southern_land. Number of roofs is not
limited in 5CC, but might be limited in your CC version (in some
cases when combined with too much trees). Not always the largest map
is the best solution for your project (the name of the game is CLOSE
combat). Would be not the first time I have to shrink down my maps
due to runtime problems in CC. In this case dont worry: use my
CloseCombat2Tools / CC2ToolsPC.exe (available for MacOS (Carbon) and
PC) to shrink/expand/rotate(!)/join/convert between CC versions and
much more.


Good luck, Yours Mafi

http://www.ftf.claranet.de/
http://www.closecombat2.claranet.de/
http://closecombat2.npage.de/
http://cc2revival.npage.de/